Boards & Commissions

Effective immediately all meetings of City of Tucson Boards, Committees and Commissions are to be canceled through April 17, 2020. Please notify your members immediately. Meetings already scheduled are to be canceled. This step is being used as an appropriate precaution to protect the public, BCC members and City staff from COVID-19. If you have any questions, please send them to

Metropolitan Education Commission (MEC)

1) Documentation:

Current AgendaPast Agendas Reports
Current LARPast LARs    
Current Minutes and AudioPast Minutes and Audio    

2) Description

Identify issues of economic, political, and social importance to education and coordinate the work of the many agencies that support education. 8 year term limit.

3) Maximum Number of Members


4) Meeting Location

To be provided.

5) Meeting Time

Meets as required.

6) Information Sheet

7) Members

Mrs. Arlene BenavidezEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
Ms. Teri Bohr-LagunaMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
Ms. Monica BrinkerhoffSecretaryMayor and CouncilParent
Mr. Buck CrouchMemberArizona School Boards Association
Ms. Kendra DaveyMemberCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee
Dr. David DoreMemberPima Community CollegeRepresentative
Mr. Richard EliasMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsMember, Board of Supervisors
Mr. George FavelaMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsParent
Leslie FerreMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
Ms. Daniela FigueroaMemberMayor and CouncilSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
Mr. Steven FreemanMemberCommissionDisabled Community Representative
Ms. Daniela GallagherMemberTucson Regional Economic Opportunities
Mr. Javier HerreraMemberHispanic Community Forum
Mr. Steve HolmesMemberSchool Districts Superintendent CollaborativeSuperintendent
Mr. John LansaMemberEducation Enrichment Foundations
Mr. Alexander LewisMemberNative American Community
Mr. Paul LovelisChairpersonChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
Mr. Luis ManjarrezTreasurerMayor and CouncilLibraries/Musems/Arts
Milana MarshallMemberYouth Advisory Council/Tucson Teen Congress
Mr. Rafael MezaAt-LargeCommissionRegionally Accredited Private Institution Representative
Ms. Clarisa NidoMemberArizona School Administrators AssociationPrincipal
Nicole PargasMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Health Care Community
Ms. Kathy PratherMemberTucson Regional Economic Opportunities
Dr. Daisy Rodriguez PitelVice ChairpersonAsian American CommunityRepresentative
Ms. Regina RomeroMemberMayor and CouncilMember, Tucson City Council
Ms. Devon ScheitrumMemberTucson Metro Chamber
Mr. Rex ScottMemberCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee
Ms. Jennifer SprungMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
Dr. Kasey UrquidezMemberUniversity of ArizonaRepresentative
Mr. Dustin WilliamsEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
Pastor James WiltbankMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Religious Community

For further information please contact the City Clerk's Office at (520) 791-4213.

Datapages for the boards are provided in Adobe PDF format. You'll need the free Acrobat Reader to view the documents.